Switch to Accessible Site
Creating a Brighter FutureTogether
People Holding Hands

DWI Assessment and Treatment

The DWI Process

Assessment

1.Schedule an Alcohol Assessment by calling or requesting an appointment online. 

2.Assessments are conducted by appointment only and require approximately one hour.

3.It is highly recommended by most attorneys in North Carolina that you complete a NC DWI Assessment prior to your first court appearance.

Items Needed for Assessment

Pre-trial Assessment

1.Your citation from your arrest.

a.If you do not have a copy you can obtain it from the Clerk of Court in the county of your arrest.

2.The breathalyzer printout indicating your BAC at time of arrest.

a.If you do not have a copy you can obtain it from the Clerk of Court in the county of your arrest.

3.A copy of your North Carolina Driving Record.

a. KBR Counseling and Services, PLLC can obtain this if you have no other way to obtain it. There will be a $10 fee for this.

4.      The State mandated DWI Assessment Fee of $100.

Post-Conviction Assessment

1.       Bring a certified copy of the judgment in your case.

2.      The breathalyzer printout indicating your BAC at time of arrest.

a.      If you do not have a copy you can obtain it from the Clerk of Court in the county of your arrest.

b.      If the certified copy of the judgment indicates your BAC, the breathalyzer printout is not needed.

The assessment and clinical interview will determine any treatment or educations needed.
_______________________________________________________________

Treatment and Education

1. ADETS (Alcohol and Drug Education Class)    NEXT CLASS BEGINS APRIL 18th please contact us to register or find out more information. 

      a. 16 hours

  • First DUI/DWI conviction (Total lifetime).
  • Arrest BAC of .14 or less.
  • Did not refuse breath test.
  • Has no substance use disorder diagnosis as determined byASAM (American Society of Addictions Medicine) upon completion of comprehensive alcohol and drug use evaluation.
  • Must be a minimum of sixteen contact hours completed in no less than 5 sessions.

2. Short Term Treatment

     a.A minimum of 20 hours of Outpatient Substance Abuse Treatment, to be completed in no less than thirty days.

  • More than 1 DUI/DWI lifetime.
  • Refused breath test.
  • BAC of .15 or greater.
  • DSM-V diagnosis of Substance Use Disorder – Mild.
  • Meets Level I ASAM (American Society of Addictions Medicine) program placement criteria.

3. Longer Term Treatment

     a.A minimum of 40 hours of Outpatient Substance Abuse Treatment, to be completed in no less than sixty days.

  • Meets criteria for DSM-V Substance Use Moderate Diagnosis.
  • Meets Level I ASAM program placement criteria.

Treatment and/or Education must begin within six months of assessment.
_______________________________________________________________

North Carolina General Statutes

20-17.6(c)  -  An individual having been convicted of DWI must obtain a substance abuse assessment and comply with the recommended education or treatment prior to the individual’s driver license being reinstated.

20-179(e)(6)  -  An individual completing a substance abuse assessment prior to the court appearance, may receive consideration of a mitigating factor during sentencing if convicted of the DWI offense.

122C-142.1  Requires providers to be licensed by the State of North Carolina prior to conducting assessments and / or education and treatment.  The fee for the substance abuse assessment is determined by the State of North Carolina and is currently $100.00.

Helpful Forms

Click here to view and print forms for your appointment.

Click Here